Pasifika at Vic

Pasifika Students' Council (PSC)

The Pasifika Students’ Council (PSC) is our representative group for Pasifika students at Victoria University Students' Association.

It includes student representatives from:

  • Fiji
  • Samoa
  • Tonga
  • Cook Islands
  • Niue
  • Tahiti
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Tokelau
  • Tuvalu
  • Solomon Islands
  • Kiribati
  • Timor L'Este, and
  • New Zealand-born Pasifika students.

Many members of the PSC are members of other student associations as well (Samoan, Tongan, Tokelauan, Melanesian, Cook Island, Fijian, Papua New Guinean, Timor-Leste, Niuean, Pasifika Law Students' Society). The PSC meet regularly to discuss, advocate for, and share issues concerning our Pasifika students and our region.

During Trimester 1 and 2, every second Wednesday (even-numbered weeks) the PSC hold Loto ‘Aho (radiant hearts/minds) study sessions for all Pasifika students from 4pm - 6pm at Wan Solwara (Level 2, Rankine Brown/Library building, Kelburn Campus). These study sessions are led by student leaders and clustered into smaller groups based on specific courses or programme of study.

Our PSC is committed to success, equity and equality as a student, and look forward to being part of your successful navigation at Victoria. New members are always welcome.

2017 Pasifika Students' Council (PSC) Executive

President, Sina Ah-Sam
Vice President, Stephanie Tema
Secretary, Annetta Iakopo
Vice Secretary, Ali Leota
Treasurer, Atireta Temai
Vice Treasurer, Lepau Feau-Fuhinui
Academic Officer,  Anaseini Nuku
Vice Academic Officer, Totisa Tomane
Public Relations/Events Officer, Zach Fonoti

Contact the Pasifika Students' Council (PSC):

Join the PSC Facebook page: Pasifika Students Council