Scholarship detail

New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships


For Postgraduate Studies In NZ

Tenure of award:

Scholarships are for postgraduate study at Masters or PhD level only.

Number of awards offered:

To candidates from developing Commonwealth Countries

History or background of award

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is an international programme under which member governments offer scholarships and fellowships to citizens of other Commonwealth countries.
The CSFP was established at the first Commonwealth education conference in 1959 and is reviewed by education ministers at their triennial meetings. The CSFP is the only scholarship scheme in the world to receive such high-level recognition.
As part of the CSFP programme, New Zealand offers New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships to candidates from developing Commonwealth countries for postgraduate study (Masters and PhD) in New Zealand universities on a contestable basis. New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships are highly competitive and for top level graduates.
New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships are funded by the New Zealand Aid Programme and managed and managed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT). The selection process in New Zealand is managed by Universities New Zealand.


Purpose of award

Universities New Zealand is managing the application and selection process for the New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships:
 - applications in 2016 for tenure from 2017.
Scholarships may be held at one of the eight universities in New Zealand:
the University of Auckland
Auckland University of Technology
Waikato University
Massey University
Victoria University of Wellington
Canterbury University
Lincoln University
Otago University

Selection criteria

An invitatilon to nominate candidates has been sent to the Nominating Agency in each country eligible to participate in this scholarship programme.
The eligible countries are:
BotswanaBelizeBangladeshCook Islands
LesothoJamaicaPakistanPapua New Guinea
MalawiSt LuciaSri LankaSamoa
MauritiusSt Vincent and the Grenadines Solomon Islands
Mozambique  Tokelau
Namibia  Tonga
Nigeria  Tuvalu
Rwanda  Vanuatu
Sierra Leone   
South Africa   
Nominating Agencies
A list of Nominating Agencies for each eligible country is in this document

- Nominating Agencies

How do students apply?

Applicants must send their completed applications to the Nominating Agency for their country, not to Universities NZ or to MFAT.

Closing Dates for Applications
Each Nominating Agency has been asked to set the closing date for applications for their country.
To find out the closing date for their country applicants should contact their Nominating Agency.
Eligibility Criteria
Application Form
Application Guidance

Additional information

Priority Sectors for Study
Scholarships are offered to support priority development sectors.
MFAT has identified the Priority Sectors for Study for scholarships from 2017.
Thay are listed in this document - Priority Sectors for Study.

Decision makers

The Decision Process

Universities NZ
Universities NZ will receive the nominated applications from the NominatingAgencies.
These applications will be subject to a final check for eligibility andcompleteness. Any nominated applications that are found to be ineligible orincomplete will not be considered
Complete and eligible applications will be assessed and reviewed by a selection committee in Wellington, New Zealand. Members of this committee will be representatives from the New Zealand Aid Programme at New Zealand’s Ministry of F oreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT) and representatives from the Scholarships Committee of Universities NZ.
The selection committee will make scholarship recommendations to the New Zealand Aid Programme team at MFAT.
The New Zealand Aid Programme team at MFAT will review therecommendations and decide which they will support for further assessment.

How and when do students learn of the decision?

The selection committee will meet in Wellington in September 2016.
As soon as possible after the committee meeting nominated candidates and their Nominating Agency will be advised of the outcome of their application and of any subsequent processes that the selection committee or the NZ Aid Programme may require.

Preference will be given to candidates who demonstrate strong academic ability, leadership qualities, and a commitment to the development of their home country.
Preference is also given to candidates who are 39 years of age or younger at the time of commencing their scholarship.
Preference will be given to candidates who apply to study in academic disciplines relating to priority sectors. 
For more information on priority sectors please see ‘Priority Sectors’ below.

What conditions are attached to acceptance of this award?

Scholarship recipients are required to return to their home country on completion of their scholarship to work for a minimum period of two years in order to apply their new skills and knowledge.

Who else has information about this award?

Enquiries from applicants should be directed to their Nominating Agency.

For guidelines, application forms and more information about this award contact:

Position: Scholarships
Organisation: Universities New Zealand – Te Pōkai Tara
Address: PO Box 11915
Wellington 6142
Phone: +64 4 381 8510