NZSM Composers Amongst SOUNZ and Screen Awards Finalists

Michael Norris, David Long and Stephen Gallagher are among the finalists for the SOUNZ Contemporary and Best Original Music in a Feature Film awards.

Michael Norris
Michael Norris

NZSM Senior Lecturer Michael Norris has been announced as a finalist for the 2018 SOUNZ Contemporary Award for his work Sygyt for throat singer, ensemble and live electronics. The work was commissioned by Stroma and written for Jonny Marks, and explores and imitates the two styles of Tuvan throat singing. Michael, who won the Award in 2014 with Inner Phases, is nominated for the fifth time (Rays of the Sun, Shards of the Moon 2004, Volti 2009, TIMEDANCE 2013). Michael teaches composition, sonic arts and post-tonal music theory at Te Kōkī New Zealand School of Music and is editor of Wai-te-ata Music Press and Co-Director of Stroma New Music Ensemble. The two other finalists for the SOUNZ Contemporary Award are Leonie Holmes and Rosie Langabeer.

NZSM Teaching Fellow David Long and NZSM alumnus Stephen Gallagher have also been announced as finalists for the APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award.

David Long is known equally for his roles in bands such as The Muttonbirds and Teeth, and for working on many of Peter Jackson’s films, along with composing numerous other films and TV series. This year he’s a finalist for his work on acclaimed documentary McLaren about NZ racing driver Bruce McLaren.

Stephen Gallagher has composed music for every size of production, from Hollywood blockbusters through to independent documentaries and online web series. This year he’s nominated for his sparsely fitting score to local sub-Antarctic thriller Human Traces.

The awards will be presented during a ceremony at Spark Arena in Auckland on Thursday 4 October.