Recognition for Creative Writing graduates

A number of our completing students and graduates have recently been awarded residencies or fellowships.

Therese Lloyd (PhD 2017) will be the University of Waikato 2018 Writer in Residence. Acting Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences Professor Allison Kirkman noted that Therese was chosen from a very strong field of applicants, and believes students and staff will benefit greatly from her creative presence on campus.

2017 completing MA in Creative Writing student Maria Samuela is the recipient of the second University Book Shop and Robert Lord Writers’ Cottage Trust Summer Writer in Residence, which runs in January and February 2018. While her previously published work was for children, Maria plans to use the residency to work on the next draft of a collection of adult stories written during her MA year.

The 2018 Winston Churchill McNeish Writers’ Fellowship was awarded to completing MA student Mia Gaudin who will travel to Mexico and California to research the lives of Sandra Bogart and Marion Grant for a planned novel. The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Fellowships support New Zealanders to travel overseas for the purposes of research in many fields.

Allan Drew (PhD 2017) and Lawrence Patchett (PhD 2012) are among the emerging and established writers awarded residencies at Auckland's Michael King Writers' Centre for 2018.The Centre's six-month University of Auckland Residency has been awarded to acclaimed playwright Victor Roger, who spent 2017 at the IIML as the Victoria University / Creative New Zealand Writer in Residence.