IIML staff, sudents and graduate nominated for Wellington Theatre Awards

Courtney Rose Brown, Emma Kinane, Emily Perkins and Sarita So are among the 2017 nominees.

This year the Wellington Theatre Awards celebrates twenty five years of honouring Wellington's theatre talent. Read the full nominees list.

2017 MA in Creative Writing (Script) student Courtney Rose Brown and  IIML Senior Lecturer Emily Perkins are both nominated in the Best New Playwright and Best NZ Play categories. Fellow 2017 Script student Sarita So is a nominee for Best New Playwright and Most Promising Newcomer and 2013 MA graduate Emma Kinane is the other finalist in the Best NZ Play category.

The First Time by Courtney Rose Brown has had seasons at BATS and Circa Theatres and was highly commended in the Playmarket's Playwrights b425 competition.

Emily Perkins' adaptation of Ibsen's A Doll's House, premiered at Auckland's Maidement, followed by a Wellington season at Circa Theatre this year.

Riverside Kings (Expressions and BATS) was written by Sarita So with  collaborator and partner Natano Keni: the other half of I Ken So Productions.

Emma Kinane, who completed the MA in Creative Writing (Script) in 2013, is also nominated for Best NZ Play for Anahera (Circa), which was a finalist in the 2016 Adam NZ Play Award.

Eleven industry professionals choose the nominees for the twenty awards in categories that span acting, directing, production, writing, design, technical support and 'theatre affiliates'. The 'Mayor's' award will be announced at the awards ceremony.

The winners will be announced at the award ceremony in Wellington on 10 December.