Lynne Robertson shortlisted for Commonwealth Short Story Prize

The MA in Creative Writing graduate is the only New Zealander on the shortlist, selected from more than 5000 entries.

2017 MA in Creative Writing graduate Lynne Robertson has been shortlisted for the prestigious Commonwealth Short Story Prize; awarded annually for the best unpublished short story submitted by a Commonwealth citizen. The 2018  prize attracted 5182 entries from forty eight Commonwealth countries. Of the twenty four shortlisted writers, Lynne is the only New Zealander. Her entry 'Chicken Boy', written during her MA year, is described as a story that 'unleashes the harshness and beauty of childhood.'

Kirsten Griffiths, another member of the 2017 MA workshop, was longlisted for her story 'Black Telephone', also written as part of her MA folio.

The Prize is judged by an international panel of writers, representing each of the five regions of the Commonwealth. The 2018 judges are Damon Galgut (Africa), Sunila Galappatti (Asia), Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm (Canada and Europe) Mark McWatt (Caribbean) and Paula Morris (Pacific).

Lynne began writing in 2017 and was awarded an IIML Project Scholarship after completing the course. She has had her short fiction published in Turbine | Kapohau and broadcast on Radio New Zealand.

The overall Prize has previously been won by MA graduate Emma Martin in 2012, and the Pacific Regional Commonwealth Short Story Prize by PhD Creative Writing Tina Makereti in 2016. The 2018 winner will be announced later this year.