Committees and boards

Learn about the boards responsible for maintaining academic quality and dealing with academic matters at the University.

Academic Board

The Academic Board at Victoria University of Wellington advises the University Council on matters relating to courses of study, awards, and other academic matters, and exercises powers delegated by the Council and the Vice-Chancellor.

The Board's convenor is the Vice-Chancellor. The membership, functions and powers of the Academic Board are defined in the Academic Board Statute. The Academic Office provides administrative support for Academic Board.

The Academic Board meetings are open to the public (except for confidential items). For meeting dates see important dates. In 2017, Academic Board meetings will be held from 14pm on Tuesdays. The venue is usually the Hunter Council Chamber, on the second floor of the Hunter Building, but other venues are used from time to time.

For a current list of members of Academic Board or for up-to-date information about venues, contact:

Academic Committee

The Academic Committee is a subcommittee of the Academic Board, established under the Academic Board Statute. The convenor is the Vice-Provost (Academic and Equity). The committee provides advice on all matters concerning the maintenance of academic quality and on any other academic matters which may be referred to it.

Academic Committee reviews proposals for new qualifications and courses and monitors reviews of academic programmes. The Academic Office provides administrative support for Academic Committee.

Faculties and Faculty Boards

There is a Faculty Board for each of the University's nine Faculties and Toihuarewa:

The Faculty Boards deal with all matters concerning the maintenance of academic quality and any other academic matters at a Faculty level. Each of the nine boards is convened by the relevant Dean. Members include all academic staff teaching in the Faculty as well as student representatives. Each board is a subcommittee of the Academic Board.