Orientation and start dates

Find out when you need to arrive for International Orientation, and other key dates for the start of your study.

All international students must attend International Orientation. If you are going to miss your Orientation due to circumstances beyond your control, contact the International team as soon as possible so we can discuss your options.

Trimester 1, 2020

Friday 7 to Wednesday 19 February

Pre-start programme for New Zealand Scholarship students—compulsory arrival date 30 January.

Thursday 20 and Friday 21 February

International Orientation for undergraduate and postgraduate students (except Study Abroad and exchange). For PhD students, the second day of Orientation is optional.

Monday 24 and Tuesday 25 February

International Orientation for Study Abroad and exchange students.

Monday 2 March

Classes start for all students, except EPP.

Wednesday 11 March

EPP placement test. EPP Orientation and enrolment to be confirmed at the test.

Friday 13 March

EPP classes start.


Trimester 2, 2020

Monday 15 to Friday 26 June

Pre-start programme for New Zealand Scholarship students—compulsory arrival date 10 June.

Monday 29 and Tuesday 30 June

International Orientation for undergraduate and postgraduate students (except Study Abroad and exchange). For PhD students, the second day of Orientation is optional.

Wednesday 1 and Thursday 2 July

International Orientation for Study Abroad and exchange students.

Monday 6 July

Classes start for all students, except EPP.

Wednesday 8 July

EPP placement test. EPP Orientation and enrolment to be confirmed at the test.

Friday 10 July

EPP classes start.


Trimester 3, 2020

Monday 26 October to Monday 2 November

Pre-start programme for New Zealand Scholarship students—compulsory arrival date 21 October.

Tuesday 3 and Wednesday 4 November

International Orientation for undergraduate, postgraduate, and Study Abroad and exchange students. For PhD students, the second day of Orientation is optional.

Wednesday 4 November

EPP placement test. EPP Orientation and enrolment to be confirmed at the test.

Friday 6 November

EPP classes start.

Monday 9 November

Classes start for all other students.