Architecture and Design building

About us

The Faculty of Architecture and Design, Te Wāhanga Waihanga-Hoahoa, combines two schools—the School of Architecture and the School of Design.

We are one of the leading providers of innovative education in design and the built environment—and the only university in New Zealand to bring these two disciplines together into one faculty.

Architects and designers have crucial roles to play in the ways in which we inhabit, change and adapt to the material world. They are continually challenged by, and challenging, the implications of environmental, social, cultural and economic change.

We are committed to producing graduates with the creative, professional and technical skills which will enable them to contribute significantly to New Zealand society in an era of rapid global change.

We offer three undergraduate degrees with a choice of seven majors in Design Innovation, four in Architecture and two in Building Science as well as professional accredited degrees in Architecture and Landscape Architecture. With a focus on cross-disciplinary research, our degrees prepare our graduates to take their place as leaders in creative and innovation industries around the world.

Located in the creative heart of Wellington, just off the vibrant Cuba Street, our campus sits alongside industry and government which sees us well placed to offer opportunities to both our students and our partners through research partnerships, internships and placements, and more.

Learn more about the schools, news and events by visiting our school websites:

Our mission, vision and values

Our mission is to provide a teaching and learning experience that enriches the development, exploration and innovation in the way we approach and connect education and the professional industry.

We are responsible for providing the high quality education our students need to succeed within their chosen fields as professionals, and leaders.

Our core values revolve around our ability to provide and maintain a competitive educational product within the current marketplace.