Distinguished Alumni Awards

Every two years we acknowledge a number of our top-achieving alumni. Discover our Distinguished Alumni Award winners.

Nominations for the 2019 Distinguished Alumni Awards have now closed and we will soon be announcing the names of the winners. If you would like further information about the awards, email alumni@vuw.ac.nz.

Danny Chan—BCA 1972, BCA Hons 1973

Danny is an influential businessman with interests spanning education, investment management, financial and business consultancy, and floriculture.

David Howman—BA 1970, LLB (Hons) 1973

David has recently stepped down as Director-General of the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA), following 13 years in the role.

Judge Ida Malosi—BA 1985, LLB 1989

Ida is a beacon for Pasifika men and women in the legal profession.

Stephanie McIntyre—BA 1975

Stephanie is an advocate for the most marginalised people in New Zealand, most notably those who are homeless.

Chris Moller—BCA 1976, DipAcc 1977

Chris is a highly respected businessman and sports administrator who has shown outstanding leadership in fields as diverse as dairying, rugby and cricket.

Professor Marilyn Waring—BA Hons 1974

Professor Marilyn Waring is a prominent New Zealand economist and feminist, and a leading activist for women’s human rights.

Young Alumni Award: Liam Malone—BCOM 2017

Liam became one of New Zealand’s most popular athletes following his performance at the 2016 Paralympic Games.

Distinguished Alumni Award winners from 2015

Previous recipients

Victoria graduates have gone on to do incredible things. See who has won a Distinguished Alumni Award in recent years.