Chinese language proficiency tests

The Institute offers HSK Level 1 - 6 oral and written tests for school-aged learners, secondary, tertiary and adult learners.

Test Dates for 2019

The Confucius Institute at Victoria University offers various Chinese Language tests in 2018.

If you want to assess your level try here.

The following tests will be offered:

HSK Level 1-6 (Written) & HSKK (Oral) Tests

(Adult and university learners)

Test Date: Saturday, 23 March, 2019

  • Test: HSK & HSKK, all levels
  • Last day for registration: 25 February, 2019
  • Registration
  • Pay here

Test Date: Saturday, 11 May 2019

Test Date: Saturday, 17 August 2019

Test Date: Sunday, 1 December 2019

  • Test: HSK & HSKK, all levels
  • Last day for registration: 29 October 2019
  • Registration
  • Pay here

How to register

To register for the tests, you can register online, or come to Confucius Institute office and complete the Registration form.

Test fees can be paid here.

We will inform you with the exam information i.e. test venue, time etc. two weeks before the test.

Chinese Language Test Fees (in NZ $)

  • HSK Written Test Level 1: $35
  • HSK Written Test Level 2: $35
  • HSK Written Test Level 3: $55
  • HSK Written Test Level 4: $55
  • HSK Written Test Level 5: $75
  • HSK Written Test Level 6: $75
  • HSK Speaking Test Beginner: $35
  • HSK Speaking Test Intermediate: $55
  • HSK Speaking Test Advanced: $75
  • YCT Level 1: $20
  • YCT Level 2: $20
  • YCT Level 3: $20
  • YCT Level 4: $30
  • YCT Speaking Test Beginner: $20
  • YCT Speaking Test Intermediate: $20

Chinese Proficiency test

HSK is an international standardized exam that tests and rates Chinese language proficiency. There are both written and spoken tests.It assesses non-native Chinese speakers’ abilities in using the Chinese language in their daily, academic and professional lives.

These tests are essential tools to determine the student's Chinese proficiency level and useful qualifications for further language study in China and universities worldwide. HSK certificates are also often an essential requirement when applying for Chinese scholarships. The Institute offers a series of training workshops and training materials for test candidates.

The written tests consists of six levels from HSK- Level 1 to HSK-Level 6. The online written tests are also being offered. Oral tests are divided into 3 levels, HSK-Speaking basic, intermediate and advance.

The levels of the new HSK correspond to the levels of the Chinese Language Proficiency Scales for Speakers of Other Languages (CLPS) and the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEF) as follows:

HSK-Level 1

  • HSK Speaking: N/A
  • Vocabulary: 150
  • CLPS: Level I
  • CEF: A1

HSK-Level 2

  • HSK Speaking: HSK-Speaking Basic
  • Vocabulary: 300
  • CLPS: Level II
  • CEF: A2

HSK-Level 3

  • HSK Speaking: N/A
  • Vocabulary: 600
  • CLPS: Level III
  • CEF: B1

HSK-Level 4

  • HSK Speaking: HSK-Speaking Intermediate
  • Vocabulary: 1200
  • CLPS: Level IV
  • CEF: B2

HSK-Level 5

  • HSK Speaking: N/A
  • Vocabulary: 2500
  • CLPS: Level V
  • CEF: C1

HSK-Level 6

  • HSK Speaking: HSK-Speaking Advance
  • Vocabulary: Over 5000
  • CLPS: Level V
  • CEF: C2


For more information on registration and test preparation workshops, please contact:

Confucius Institute at Victoria University of Wellington
Victoria University of Wellington
PO Box 600
Wellington 6140
New Zealand

Phone: 04 4639549