Funded research chairs at Victoria Business School

Victoria Business School has a number of externally-funded chairs with specialist research expertise.

Victoria Business School has a number of externally-funded chairs with specialist research expertise, and we are grateful for the support from sponsors that assist their ongoing activities and research. 

Chair in Public Finance

The Chair in Public Finance was established to develop research in the area of public finance, including social welfare issues, and to encourage debate and engagement with the public and private sectors on these issues, especially as they relate to policy.

Located in the School of Accounting and Commercial Law, the Chair reports to an Advisory Board and also works collaboratively with researchers in the Tax and Public Finance Research Group, the School of Economics and Finance and the School of Government.

A key role of the Chair is to strengthen collaboration between the University and the public and private sectors on research and policy issues in public finance. It was established in 2011 as a joint venture between Victoria University and four sponsoring institutions with an interest in public finance:

Professor Norman Gemmell is the inaugural Chair in Public Finance, having previously been Chief Economist and Principal Adviser (Tax) at The Treasury, and in 2012 was named the Institute of Economics Research Economist of the Year.

Chair in Digital Government

The Chair in Digital Government concentrates on research into the introduction, management and use of Information and Communication Technologies in the public sector, the managerial, governmental, and democratic implications, and the sector's external relationships with society.

Professor Miriam Lips is the inaugural Chair (initially the Chair in e-Government before being renamed in 2015), and her research topics include: joined-up government, information sharing and privacy; the management of citizen identity information; citizen-centric government; the use of social media in public engagement; e-records management in the public sector; and the use of social media in collective action around major natural disasters, such as the Christchurch earthquakes.

Located in the School of Government, this Chair is sponsored by

Chair in the Economics of Disasters

The Chair in the Economics of Disasters, understood to be the first such Chair in the world, was established in July 2013. The first holder of the Chair is Professor Ilan Noy.

The focus of the Chair is on the research and application of economics and public policy insights to the management of natural and other disasters. There is a general lack of expertise and understanding, worldwide, of the economic implications of natural and other disasters

This was clearly demonstrated close to home after the Christchurch earthquake, but also after the 11/9 Twin Towers attacks, Boxing Day tsunami in 2004, Hurricane Katrina in 2005, Sichuan earthquake and Cyclone Nargis in 2008, the Japan tsunami and Fukushima nuclear disaster of 2011, as well as health-related disasters such as SARS and H1N1 epidemics.

The Chair in the Economics of Disasters will fill a major gap in preparedness of the public, private, and academic sectors in the face of the certainty that there will be future disasters. Located in the School of Economics and Finance, this Chair is sponsored by

BNZ Chair in Business in Asia

The BNZ Chair in Business in Asia has been established to focus on how New Zealand businesses can succeed in the highly competitive Asian market.

Asian business expert Professor Siah Hwee Ang is the inaugural BNZ Chair in Business in Asia, which was officially launched in November 2013.

Before joining Victoria University, Dr Ang was Professor in Strategy at the University of Auckland Business School and has also been researching at Cass Business School, City University in London.

The Chair's core activities include high quality academic research on Asia with a business and policy focus, including research collaboration nationally and internationally; executive education aimed at building capability in the corporate and SME business sector, the public sector and the professions; practitioner-informed undergraduate and graduate teaching programmes; and public education programmes reaching a broader range of business people and the wider community.

Located in the School of Marketing and International Business, the BNZ Chair in Business in Asia is sponsored by

Diana Unwin Chair in Restorative Justice

The Diana Unwin Chair in Restorative Justice serves as the focus for collaborative, interdisciplinary research and teaching on restorative justice theory and practice, both within the justice sector and beyond.

Professor Chris Marshall, the inaugural holder of the Chair, provides academic and professional leadership to a team of researchers and practitioners, and facilitates collaborative engagement between public sector agencies and civil society organisations on restorative justice issues.

Government has expressed support for increasing the reach and quality of restorative interventions. The practitioner community is set to expand considerably in the coming years, and the Chair will play a pivotal role in carrying this momentum forward in an academically credible and practice-focused way.

Located in the School of Government, the Chair in Restorative Justice was named after one of New Zealand’s least known philanthropists, Diana Unwin.

It is sponsored by:

  • The Grace Memorial Trust
  • Ministry of Justice
  • Ministry of Education
  • Ministry of Social Development
  • Department of Corrections
  • New Zealand Police
  • New Zealand Defence Force
  • Accident Compensation Corporation

Brian Picot Chair in Ethical Leadership

The Brian Picot Chair in Ethical Leadership has been established to strengthen Victoria Business School’s capabilities in training and supporting stakeholders to strengthen ethical practices in business, government and community organisations. Research in this field will provide insight that can improve leadership and practices to improve confidence in business, inform public policy, and help mitigate the risks that can lead to organisational failures.

The inaugural Chair is Professor Karin Lasthuizen, who is highly regarded in Europe for her research and consultancy work in responsible leadership and ethics in the public sector, as well as her innovative research in the methodology of organisational misbehaviour. She has held numerous senior research and policy positions, and most recently was an Associate Professor in Leadership and Ethics Management at VU University Amsterdam.

Located in the School of Management, the Brian Picot Chair in Ethical Leadership is sponsored by:

The Chair of Wellbeing and Public Policy is the seventh Professorial Chair established at Victoria Business School and will be located within the School of Government.

The inaugural Chair is Professor Arthur Grimes, who comes from a background in finance with former roles including chief economist at the Reserve Bank of New Zealand and the National Bank of New Zealand. He also has experience in academia and spent four years as the director of Victoria University's Institute of Policy Studies, where he promoted and analysed public policy issues. Most recently, Professor Grimes has been a senior fellow at Motu Research focusing on urban economics and the economics of wellbeing.

The new Chair sits within the School of Government, and Professor Grimes' work will feed into two of Victoria's academic areas of strength, Advancing Better Government and Advancing Health and Wellbeing in our communities, which draw together researchers from across disciplines working in these areas.