The School of Government's best and brightest celebrated at Victoria Business School’s Excellence Awards

The School of Government's highest achievers were celebrated at VBS's fifth annual Excellence Awards held at Rutherford House on Monday 15 May.

The best of Victoria Business School's undergraduate, Master's and PhD students were celebrated at the annual Excellence Awards
The best of Victoria Business School's undergraduate, Master's and PhD students were celebrated at the annual Excellence Awards held at Rutherford House on May 15.

The Victoria Business School Excellence Awards recognize the top graduating students across our six schools, and incorporates the Dean's Award for Doctoral Achievement for excellence in PhD research and awards for the top Master’s students.

At the awards ceremony last night Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Dean of Commerce Professor Bob Buckle said it was great to acknowledge the successes of Victoria Business School’s best and brightest students amongst their friends, family, fellow students and staff who have helped them fulfil their potential.

"These awards recognise the years of hard work and commitment our students have dedicated to their education and to being the very best they can be. They have done us proud and have a bright future ahead of them."

Professor Buckle acknowledged the significance of hosting the event for the first time in the newly redeveloped Rutherford House and being able to make the most of the great space.

Guest speaker, recent Victoria Business School alumnus Donald Cruz, offered his congratulations to the award winners and shared personal nuggets that helped him get through life after university.

"No matter how successful you are going to be, or how busy you will be in your next endeavours, always remember where you came from and acknowledge the people who have helped you. It can be a country (for international students), a family, community or a university."

Professor Buckle expressed his appreciation for the support received from sponsors who partner with Victoria Business School to recognise graduates and students.

"Their involvement in these awards not only demonstrates their ongoing support for Victoria Business School, but for their investment in the future business leaders who received awards."

School of Government Award winners

Top Master’s Students

Rawinia Lewis - Master of Public Management

Elizabeth Scrivener - Master of Public Policy

Jeremy Wood - Master of Public Administration (Executive)

Public Policy

Philip Anderson - Excellence Award in Public Policy

Olivia Simcox - Excellence Award in Public Policy

See a full list of award winners

Sponsors for the Excellence Awards

Victoria Business School is grateful to the organisations who have generously sponsored prizes for our highest achieving students, and we were pleased to host the representatives who were present last night to personally award these to the winning students.

Sponsor organisation representatives at the 2017 VBS Excellence Awards
Sponsor guests at the 2017 Victoria Business Awards (L-R): Greg Thomas (Wellington Airport), Antonia Hunt (Marketing Association), Adolf Stroombergen (Infometrics), Professor Bob Buckle (VBS), Ross Currie (ASB), Virginia Rigby (ASB), Sophie Craig (NZ Trade & Enterprise), Garth Ireland (INFINZ), Chris Till (Human Resources Institute NZ), Kristin Brandon (NZX), Toby Cooper (Kiwibank)