Health and Safety

Health and Safety

Welcome

Victoria University is committed to being a safe, vibrant and welcoming community.

Our community

Find out more about health and safety for:

Associated Links

Worksafe New Zealand
The Worksafe New Zealand website provides a source of Health and Safety information, guidance material and resources to help manage safety in the workplace.

Accident Compensation Corporation (ACC)
The Accident Compensation Corporation (ACC) website provides a source of information to help prevent injuries in the workplace and at home. The website also includes information relating to other ACC services.

Ministry of Civil Defence and Emergency Management
A source of official information and updates regarding national and regional emergency events, warnings and advisories. The website has extensive information regarding preparation measures that can be undertaken before a disaster strikes.

Upcoming Events 

  • Thursday 3 September & Friday 4 September - Level 1 Health and Safety Rep Training - 9.00am, AM 106, Kelburn
  • Wednesday 9 September - Manual Handling and Back Care Course - 9.00am, OK 501, Kelburn.
  • Tuesday 15 SeptemberFirst Aid Level 1 - 8.30am, PA 0101, Karori.
  • Friday 25 September - Fire Warden Training - 9.00am, Room 102, 6 Waiteata Road, Kelburn.
  • Tuesday 6 October - Victoria's Health and Safety Committee meeting - 12.00pm, AM 101, Kelburn.
  • Tuesday 13 October - First Aid Refresher - 9.00am, Boyd Wilson Clubrooms, Kelburn.
  • Thursday 22 October - Health, Safety and Workstation Brief - 9.30am, OK 501, Kelburn.
  • Friday 30 October - Fire Warden Training - 9.00am, Room 102, 6 Waiteata Road, Kelburn.
  • Wednesday 11 November - Fire Extinguisher Training - 10.00am, VZ 011, Kelburn.
  • Tuesday 17 November - First Aid Level 1 - 8.30am, Boyd Wilson Clubrooms, Kelburn.
  • Tuesday 24 November - Health, Safety and Workstation Brief - 9.30am, OK 501, Kelburn.
  • Friday 27 November - Fire Warden Training - 9.00am, Room 102, 6 Waiteata Road, Kelburn.
  • Tuesday 8 December - First Aid Refresher - 9.00am, Boyd Wilson Clubrooms, Kelburn.
  • Wednesday 9 December - Victoria's Health and Safety Committee meeting - 10.00am, KK 202, Kelburn. 

Send enrolment form to, and for all training enquiries, email safety@vuw.ac.nz